Davenport school board swears in new members, officers

Local News

Davenport’s school board has its new members on the job.

Karen Kline-Jerome and kent paustian took their oaths of office to officially join the board.

They repalce Ralph Johanson and Julie DeSalvo.

The district’s ongoing financial issues will be a challenge the board has to address as well as the state’s audit findings related to the uneven discipline of minority students.

“I hope we can come out of these Phase 2 audits and citations and get the district back on track,” Karen Kline-Jerome, a new board member said. “So we can put our focus on where it needs to be and that’s student learning and achievement. “

The board also elected Bruce Potts to be the next board president, and Daniel Gosa as vice president.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.