Cedar Falls joins Dubuque, Iowa City, Mount Vernon, Muscatine, Des Moines, Cedar Rapids and Waterloo in requiring masks

National News

Sen. Chuck Grassley, R-Iowa, puts on a face mask during a Senate Judiciary Committee business meeting on Thursday, June 11, 2020. (AP Photo/Carolyn Kaster, Pool)

Cedar Falls has approved a mask mandate, joining with other Iowa cities that have taken similar moves as the state continues to see high numbers of confirmed coronavirus cases.

Cedar Falls on Tuesday joined Cedar Rapids, Des Moines, Dubuque, Iowa City, Mount Vernon, Muscatine and Waterloo in enacting mask requirements.

Enforcement of the rules vary but are primarily focused on education, with police in some communities instructed to hand out masks to those not wearing them.

Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds has declined to approve a statewide mask order because she said it would be impossible to enforce.

Reynolds has told local jurisdictions that because she hasn’t issued an order, they don’t have the authority to enforce their mask mandates.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.