Hawkeyes’ Megan Gustafson named Big Ten Player of the Year

Hawkeye Headquarters
Iowa Megan Gustafson Basketball_1551733152670

FILE – In this Oct. 31, 2018, file photo, Iowa forward Megan Gustafson poses for a photo during the NCAA college basketball team’s media day, in Iowa City, Iowa. On Nov. 24, Iowa’s Megan Gustafson scored 16 points _ hitting all eight of her shots _ and grabbed eight rebounds in a narrow loss to […]

Iowa’s Megan Gustafson was chosen as Big Ten Player of the Year by both coaches and media as the conference announced its 2018-19 women’s basketball all-conference teams Monday on BTN.

It’s the second year in a row the media awarded Gustafson the honor.

She is the first Hawkeye chosen as the coaches’ player of the year since Tangela Smith in 1998 and the ninth two-time Big Ten Player of the Year in conference history.

Gustafson joined Maryland’s Kaila Charles as a unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selection by both the coaches and media. In addition, Minnesota’s Kenisha Bell was a unanimous first-team choice by the coaches.

Gustafson also was named to the all-defensive team.

Kathleen Doyle of Iowa was named to the coaches’ first team and media’s second team. The Hawkeyes’ Tania Davis was an honorable mention on both. 

The Big Ten also recognized 14 Sportsmanship Award recipients “who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.” Hannah Stewart was the choice for the Hawkeyes.

Click here for the complete list of honorees.

For more Hawkeyes coverage, follow @AdamJRossow and @HawkeyeHQ on Twitter and Facebook.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Today's Local News

More Local News

2019 Hawkeyes (0-0)

8/31/19Miami (Ohio)6:30 p.m.
9/7/19Rutgers11 a.m.
9/14/19at Iowa State3 p.m.
9/28/19Middle Tenn. St.TBA
10/5/19at Michigan11 a.m.
10/12/19Penn StateTBA
10/19/19Purdue11 a.m.
10/26/19at Northwestern11 a.m.
11/9/19at WisconsinTBA
11/29/19at Nebraska1:30 p.m.

Rivalry trophy history

More Hawkeye rivalries
More Hawkeye Headquarters schedules