High School Sports

Rock Island's Brea Beal repeats as Illinois Ms. Basketball

Rock Island's Brea Beal has been named the 2018 Illinois Ms. Basketball, making her the fourth two-time winner of the award.

Beal joins Cappie Pondexter of Marshall, Candace Parker of Naperville Central and Tyra Buss of Mount Carmel as the only players in state history to win the award twice.

As a junior, she's positioned to be the second three-time winner after Parker, who was honored in 2002, 2003 and 2004.

Belleville West junior forward EJ Liddell was named the 2018 Mr. Basketball.

The honors are decided by a statewide vote by coaches and media and are presented by the Chicago Tribune in conjunction with the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association. 



More Stories

Latest News

Video Center